September 24 – MRC Hall of Fame Awards Virtual Ceremony

2020 Hall Of Fame Winners Announced

Join Us September 24th! Registration below.

In the Active Practitioner category, Ed Keller, CEO, Engagement Labs has been selected.  Ed Keller’s career has spanned nearly four decades, starting with Yankelovich, and then Roper Starch Worldwide (later Roper ASW), where he rose to CEO.  During that time Ed became known as a respected intellect as well as industry leader as evidenced by his role as President of the MRC and member of the ARF Board. 

Ed, along with Brad Fay, started the Keller Fay Group, which developed the only syndicated tracking study of Word of Mouth.  This research is acknowledged as the standard by which offline consumer conversation is measured, and its significant impact on brand performance can be modeled.  When social media was seen to be a source of “online word of mouth,” Ed recognized the opportunity to integrate his tracking service with social media monitoring and merged with Engagement Labs.  Ed continues to be the leading industry innovator and thought leader in the area of word of mouth measurement.  He was first chairman of the Word of Mouth Marketing Association and inducted into the Word of Mouth Marketing Hall of Fame.

In the Non Active Practitioner category, Alan Wurtzel, former President of Research and Media Development for NBCUniversal will be inducted.  

Alan’s career spanned more than 40 years in the media industry.  In addition to serving as President of Research and Media Development for NBCUniversal, he led the company’s Broadcast Standards & Practices Department, which oversees program content, advertising and commercial clearance. He joined NBCU in 1999 and retired in October 2017. 

Prior to joining NBCUniversal, Wurtzel spent 21 years at ABC in a variety of managerial positions, including Senior Vice President, Media Development, Brand Management and Research. In that position, he was responsible for innovating and managing a variety of initiatives designed to leverage existing ABC media businesses. Prior to that, he served for more than five years as Senior VP, News Magazine and Longform Programming for ABC News. 

Before joining ABC, Wurtzel taught at the University of Georgia and Queens College, City University of New York. He authored many articles for both academic journals and consumer publications and is the author of the textbook Television Production, which was a standard in the field for over 20 years. 

And new this year is the Change Maker Award.  While not an induction into the Hall of Fame, this award looks to recognize an individual who has exhibited exceptional vision and passion in advancing Market Research as a profession during the past year.

The inaugural Change Maker award will go to Kalinda Fisher, founder of The Great Reset, as well as well as founder and President of the Advocate Market Research Bureau, a leading prover of qualitative research.

Kalinda created “The Great Reset” two years ago.  It is a virtual ‘grey space’ for conversations that could be difficult, but through an agreement that all parties must follow to allow each other humility, grace and confidentiality, it often sees members become friends and ask to return. 

We hope you will join us on September 24th, from 5 to 6 ET, to celebrate our winners and the Market Research industry.  This year, our event will be held virtually, and attendance is free.  You can register for the ceremony at:

And a special thank you goes to this year’s sponsors:

  • Geopath, the not-for-profit organization that provides the industry-standard currency for out-of-home (OOH) advertising, and of which Kym Frank, Treasurer of the Market Research Council, serves as President.  They have been gracious enough to host the technology platform for our virtual induction ceremony;
  • Dynata, helping marketers and advertisers measure, validate, and optimize audiences across the entire advertising value chain. Our tools and first-party data enable businesses to reach coveted audiences, measure brand lift, and understand the true impact of their advertising campaigns. Dynata is underwriting this year’s event.

Please register now to join us as we enter the 43rd class of the Market Research Council Hall of Fame.  We look forward to seeing you on the 24th as we celebrate the incredible accomplishments of these individuals.